Throwback Thursday #25 – Exorcism

“Exorcism”, ink, 2009

In 2009 I was 30, I was busy with dating and going on a mission trip to Africa and so I produced very little art (beside doodles which are always flowing from my pen) I was still working full time at my church and finding my most fun projects to be the ones I did for Youth or Young Adult Ministries. Our young adult pastor was starting a series called Spiritual in which he would explore the spiritual gifts described in the Bible. His (and his team’s) idea for the series was something akin to comic book noir ala Frank Miller’s The Spirit. I drew this scene depicting a man casting out a demon as close to the Frank Miller style as I could at the time. This really was a challenge for me as my style has always been more in the “Funnies” comics, not the “Super hero” comics. And whenever I would draw anything more realistic it would be straight from a reference photo. With an imaginary image like this I needed reference photos of men in each of these positions (the pose for the man casting the demon I couldn’t find & so I had someone snap a picture of me in that stance). Then I had to use my imagination to make it into the exorcism scene and what was even harder is then to add all of the dramatic shading that wasn’t in the reference photos.

In the end, the team chose not to use my drawings and instead I used photos that I grey scaled and increased contrast on. This is how the series looked:

The intro created by Jon James:

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.