Throwback Thursday #27 – Seed

“Seed”, guache, 2012.

In 2012, I was 32 and still showing artwork at The Raw Canvas. Part of being a member of the Raw Canvas meant meeting together to plan first friday show themes. Each show, the owner, Justin, would choose a different member to design the posters for advertising and this time it was my turn. That spring our show’s theme was “Seed” and the members, always wanting to push the gallery toward the extreme, edgy and riské, wanted something having to do with a vagina (something about the seed of life). I was very uncomfortable with painting any nudity, particularly a female’s privates. I gave them a few sketches of ideas and tried to persuade them to accept something a little less overtly provocative. I had seen something online of a woman under ground as a seed sprouting into a plant above ground and did my own version of it. The Raw Canvas members loved this piece and I so I began work on the final in which I experimented with guache. I discovered I really like working in guache (or gouache)!

Here is how the poster turned out:

 

 

The Perpetual Hydration Machine

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.