Throwback Thursday #30 – A Reason to Sing

“A Reason to Sing”, Ink, 2015

In 2015 I was 36 and still working at the church where I work presently. I was approached by one of our worship leaders who was planning a night of worship and wanted to put together an artsy video as part of the evening. The theme of the night was “A Reason to Sing” and they they threw out some ideas to me and they knew they wanted it to somehow depict the cross, but showing the hope of the empty tomb of Christ. Since it was a video I knew it need to be a time lapse of me drawing which, in my opinion, isn’t always as cool as it sounds. I’ve seen artists doing cool things with their art in different videos on the internet and it seems to me the most interesting ones are ones that have a surprise revealed at the end. I thought about how I could do this and had the idea of the tomb image slowly appearing as I worked on drawing the wood grains on the end of a foreshortened beam of the cross. The weak part in this pieces is that the image of the tomb isn’t nearly as iconic as the cross itself and so it can take a while to really understand what I’m drawing. Overall though, the video turned out pretty close to what I had envisioned. Watch the video here:

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.