Throwback Thursday #32 – George Washington Carver

“George Washington Carver”, graphite, 2017.

In 2017 I was 38 and really starting to research ways to make my art more known so that I could increase my possibility of making money from it. One VLOG I watched gave a list of suggestions, one of which was to start this blog. Another suggestion was to post on my social media outlets pieces of my artwork with quotes I like over them. This is supposed to increase the chance of your artwork getting shared although I don’t think this has worked for me.

One of my favorite quotes is by George Washington Carver: “I love to think of nature as an unlimited broadcasting station, through which God speaks to us every hour, if we will only tune in.”  So I decided to do a drawing of him on which to place the quote. I used a graphite stick I had that was sitting around unused. It’s not my favorite medium because its very hard and doesn’t blend like charcoal or softer pencils. Here is what the final piece looked like:

Shareable for this artblog to post on social media.

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.